The Impossible Climb.

Insignificant. Small. Unimportant.

The adjectives are crushing. Their weight is suffocating. And there’s no end in sight.

The only thing in my vision is this cliff. A cliff too steep to climb. A cliff whose peak is unattainable. A cliff whose surface is too rocky. A cliff too unstable for footholds.

It crumbles beneath me every time I try. And I have tried! Tried in vain to get over this. To climb it’s impossible face.

Impossible.

Impossible.

Mounted at the base I will remain. Stuck at the bottom looking up.

My feet are bloody from the sharp edges of the rocks that make up this gargantuan mountain. My hands are sliced from trying to hoist myself up.

It hurts.

Gosh it hurts.

Alone. Stranded. Left.

Unremembered, I will disappear in their memories. Quickly replaced. They will move on as though my existence was as fleeting as dandelion snow in the wind. Once there, now scattered into nothing. Absolutely nothing.

The thought hurts just as much as my physical wounds.

The scarring will be ugly. Heinous.

I don’t expect to make a full recovery.

There will always be a part of me marred.

I wonder if they know. I wonder if they realize how stuck I am.

I doubt it.

How could they know if they can’t even remember?

Leave a comment